Rainy Day Books: An Indie Bookstore Visit

Since I don’t have an independent bookstore at home I like to discover them during my travels. That means when I’m on vacation, a quest for the best indie begins.

At the end of June my family and I headed out on the road to Kansas City to visit my grandma, aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. While there I had quite a bit of free time and found my way to a local indie bookstore, Rainy Day Books.

With my mom in tow we perused the shelves where there were plenty of staff recommendations and wonderful displays. Of course I made a beeline for the Middle Grade and Young Adult sections.

After browsing for quite some time I decided to purchase Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcsher. I had read an ARC of this and it’s the perfect add to my shelves. I really love books about sailing, pirates, and adventure.

Rainy Day Books is the perfect haven for literary lovers of all sizes. With super personable staff and an excellent selection of all types of age ranges and genres, I would love to live nearby. At least I can stop in next time I’m in KC!

Do you have a go to indie bookstore? Prefer online shopping?

Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

