Waiting on Wednesday: Sightwitch

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



SightwitchSightwitch 
by Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen

Expected Date: February 13, 2018

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Set a year before Truthwitch, Sightwitch follows Ryber Fortiza, the last Sightwitch Sister as she treks deep underground to rescue her missing best friend. While there, she encounters a young Nubrevnan named Kullen Ikray, who has no memory of who he is or how he wound up inside the mountain. As the two journey ever deeper in search of answers, and as they brave one close call after another, a tentative friendship forms between them—one that might one day grow into something more.

Sightwitch is told through Ryber’s journal entries and her sketches, as well as through supplementary materials (such as other journals, pieces of songs, clippings from history books, flashbacks, etc.). Though meant as a companion novella, this story serves as a set up to Bloodwitch as well as an expansion of the world.


I am so here for more books from Susan Dennard especially when it will be expanding the Truthwitch universe. Plus Sightwitch will be a change of pace in terms of storytelling as well as give more backstory for two characters I really like. This one really cannot come soon enough!

Are you excited for Sightwitch? Do you enjoy companion novels?

Let me know in the comments below!

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: The Rebels of Gold

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.


perf5.500x8.500.inddThe Rebels of Gold by Elise Kova

Publisher: Keymaster Press

Expected Date: December 5, 2017

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

A new rebellion rises from the still-smoldering remnants of the five guilds of Loom to stand against Dragon tyranny. Meanwhile, on Nova, those same Dragons fight amongst themselves, as age-old power struggles shift the political landscape in fateful and unexpected ways. Unlikely leaders vie for the opportunity to shape a new world order from the perfect clockwork designs of one temperamental engineer.


It’s not every day that one of my favorite authors has a new release on my birthday. This year though the final installment in the Loom Saga, The Rebels of Gold is coming out on my special day and I couldn’t be more excited. I’m clamoring to know what happens to Arianna, Cvareh, and Florence and hope Elise Kova delivers a thrilling finish.

Have you read any of Kova’s books? Had any awesome book releases on your birthday?

Let me know in the comments below!

Waiting on Wednesday: Truly Devious

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



TrulyDeviousTruly Devious
 by Maureen Johnson

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Expected Date: January 16, 2018

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. 


Is there really a new book by Maureen Johnson? Feels like I’ve been waiting for ages! (And yes I’m a bit miffed that it isn’t the fourth Shades of London novel.) I’m a huge fan of Johnson’s writing and will pick up anything by her though. Truly Devious sounds super intriguing with murder and mystery in the mix and I cannot wait to read it!

Are you fan of Maureen Johnson? Enjoy a good murder/mystery?

Let me know in the comments below!

Waiting on Wednesday: Chainbreaker

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



ChainbreakerChainbreaker
 by Tara Sim

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Expected Date: January 2, 2018

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Clock mechanic Danny Hart knows he’s being watched. But by whom, or what, remains a mystery. To make matters worse, clock towers have begun falling in India, though time hasn’t Stopped yet. He’d hoped after reuniting with his father and exploring his relationship with Colton, he’d have some time to settle into his new life. Instead, he’s asked to investigate the attacks.

After inspecting some of the fallen Indian towers, he realizes the British occupation may be sparking more than just attacks. And as Danny and Colton unravel more secrets about their past, they find themselves on a dark and dangerous path–one from which they may never return.


I’ve been dying for this second installment in Tara Sim’s Timekeeper series for what seems like ages now and the release date just got pushed backed to 2018. Honestly I just need to know how my smol sons Danny and Colton are doing. Of course I’m also excited for adventures in India and more clockwork hijinks. Chainbreaker is already messing with my heart so I need it ASAP!

Are you excited for Chainbreaker? Fascinated by clockwork?

Let me know in the comments below!

Waiting on Wednesday: The Serpent’s Secret

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



TheSerpent'sSecretThe Serpent’s Shadow
 by Sayantani DasGupta

Publisher: Scholastic

Expected Date: February 27, 2018

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

MEET KIRANMALA: INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMONSLAYER

(But she doesn’t know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey… until her parents mysteriously vanish later that day and a rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents’ fantastical stories—like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess—and a wealth of secrets about her origin they’ve kept hidden.

To complicate matters, two crushworthy Indian princes ring her doorbell, insisting they’re here to rescue her. Suddenly, Kiran is swept into another dimension full of magic, winged horses, moving maps, and annoying, talking birds. There she must solve riddles and slay demons all while avoiding the Serpent King of the underworld (who may or may not want to kill her) and the rakkhosh queen (who definitely does) in order to find her parents and basically save New Jersey, her entire world, and everything beyond it…


Hello gorgeous cover and even cooler story! The Serpent’s Secret recently popped up on my radar and I cannot wait to pick up this middle grade full of mythology. It looks like the perfect book for fans of Percy Jackson and I’m excited to see what DasGupta has in store for readers!

Have you heard of The Serpent’s Secret? Does it sound like a book you would be interested in?

Let me know in the comments below!

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Cruel Prince

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



TheCruelPrinceThe Cruel Prince
 by Holly Black

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Expected Date: January 2, 2018

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


I’ve never been huge into faeries and have barely read any Holly Black but the hype for The Cruel Prince is so strong I’ve been sucked in. I’ve heard some amazing early reviews and I think it’s time to jump into Black’s writing. Now if only this book would come out sooner…

Are you excited of The Cruel Prince? A fan of Black’s other books?

Let me know in the comments below!

Waiting on Wednesday: The City of Brass

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.



CityofBrassThe City of Brass
 by S.A. Chakraborty

Publisher: Harper Voyager

Expected Date: November 14, 2017

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of 18th century Cairo, she’s a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trade she uses to get by—palm readings, zars, healings—are all tricks, sleights of hand, learned skills; a means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles. 

But when Nahri accidentally summons an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she’s forced to accept that the magical world she thought only existed in childhood stories is real. For the warrior tells her a new tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire, and rivers where the mythical marid sleep; past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises, and mountains where the circling hawks are not what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass–a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound. 

In that city, behind gilded brass walls laced with enchantments, behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments are simmering. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, she learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. 

After all, there is a reason they say be careful what you wish for .


City of Brass came onto my radar about a month back and now I’m so hyped for this #ownvoices historical fantasy. With magic and djinn mixed with political intrigue, I don’t think I could resist. Hopefully I adore S.A. Chakraborty’s writing and add this to my faves list.

Are you excited for City of Brass? Intrigued by the premise?

Let me know in the comments below!